Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us China Websites & Languages Skip to Content

一、 What is BRC Global Standard?

BRC Global standards were set up for the world's leading brands and retailers to meet industrial development and consumer’s requirement through global network of accredited certification bodies with over 26000 certified suppliers in more than 130 countries. In recent years, BRC Global Standards become the benchmark for the evaluation of leading suppliers or brands.

BRC global standards cover six categories: Consumer Products, Food Safety, Packaging, Storage and Distribution, Retail, Agent and Brokers. While the BRC Consumer Products Standard (Abbr.: BRC-CP) was firstly published in 2003 and now updated to the Fourth version. BRC global standards are developed by industry expert team to ensure strict, detailed and clear attention to the produce safe and legitimate products in accordance with customer quality requirements.

二、  BRC-CP4 Certification Grade

Two types of BRC-CP4 cerfication : Foundation Level and  Higher Level

Foundation Level If Pass Foundation level,the result in certifcation would be :Pass .In Contrast ,Fail then no accreditation  ,can choose re-audit or give up auditing. 
Higher Level   If pass Higher level,the result in the certification will be varied from grade AA-D according to the numbers and seriousness of non-compliance. In Contrast , Fail then no accreditation  ,can choose re-audit or give up auditing.

Introducing 2 levels of certification aims to simplify the threshold standard to meet various requirement of differnet clients.

三、  Three Key Components of BRC CP4 Standard

1.Senior management commitment
Safety, legality and quality of products is a cross-functional responsibility, it needs senior management commitment to an all-encompassing policy and provision of resources 
2.Product risk management
Requires an evaluation of potential risks to the consumer and the risks of failure to meet legal or quality requirements must also be considered
3.Product and quality management system
Provide the structure to enable the management policies and results of risk assessment to be implemented consistently; Encourages continual improvement through audits and reviews.

四、 The Fundamental requirement of BRC CP4 Standard

Fundamental requirements are crucial to the effective implementation of the Standard. If identified any fundamental violation, it would be failed. The Items with Red Pentastar in the standard are fundamental ones, reference as below:

  • Senior management commitment and continual improvement (1.1)
  • Product risk management (2)
  • Control and acceptance of raw materials, components and packagingmaterials(3.5.2)
  • Corrective and preventive action (3.7)
  • Traceability (3.9)
  • Layout, product flow and segregation (4.3)
  • Product inspection and laboratory testing (5.1)
  • Control of operations (6.1)
  • Training and competency (7.1).

五、 BRC-CP4 Standard divided into seven sections

1.Senior Management Commitment
The site senior management committed to continual improvement, organisational structure, responsibilities and management authority. This includes providing adequate resources, effective communication, system reviews, actions taken and improvement opportunities.

2.Product Risk Management
The company shall have a management process in place to ensure that a risk assessment is completed on each product group to ensure safety, legality and quality in the regions of intended sale, where known.

3.Product Safety and Quality Management
This section sets out the requirements for the management of product safety and quality and draws on many of the principles found in ISO Standards. This includes requirements for product specifications, supplier approval, traceability, and the management of incidents and product recalls.

4.Site Standards
This section sets out expectations for the production environment including the layout and maintenance of the buildings and equipment, cleaning, pest control and waste management.

5.Product Inspection and Testing
The company shall have a programme for product inspection and testing to control products during and after production to ensure that products are safe, legal and meet the quality specification.

6.Process Control
Based on the principles of Hazard and risk assessment this section looks at how the manufacturing process is managed and controlled to ensure production of consistently safe and legal products to the expected quality.This includes contamination controls, control of the packing operation and product release.

This section sets out the standards needed for staff training to develop and maintain competency in their assigned role, and where applicable protective clothing and personal hygiene.


Ms Olina Cai 
T +86 (0)755 2532 8137

About SGS
SGS is the world’s leading inspection, verification, testing and certification company. SGS is recognized as the global benchmark for quality and integrity. With more than 95,000 employees, SGS operates a network of over 2,400 offices and laboratories around the world.